Rhododendron painting work in progress and photo that inspired me

This acrylic painting of a rhododendron is work in progress. Many details have to be fixed and improved, but I already enjoy looking at the pictures. It has been over year when I did my last acrylic painting. I love doing oil paintings so I kind of forgot how to use the acrylics. This painting was meant to be for an exhibition and I wanted it dry quickly so that’s why I chose acrylics. I am better at details when I use oils so I am still thinking: Should I finish the painting in oils or keep using acrylics? Some artists use acrylics first and finish the painting in oils so it’s not unusual thing to do. What do you think?

20160611_195727-Edit

background of my paintings is always hard for me, but this time I just used it to release my feelings. I was quite depressed and playing with the colour in the background helped me to relax. All the rules about mixing colors and keeping it clean didn’t apply to me at that moment. I didn’t care how messy it look, I just enjoyed it. Maybe the final version will look clean and perfect. Which background do you like more green or brown?

20160604_040137

I am always proud to use my own photographs for my paintings. Photo that inspired me for this painting:

IMG_7075-Edit

Have a look at more pictures of flowers from the rhododendron garden where I took this photo: Magical layers of flowers, rhododendron garden and five quotes for your creative soul

This post is a part of the “Secret category for my special readers.” You can help me decide how to finish the painting: Acrylics or oil? Brown or green background? Let me know your vote in comments.

Discover what is the”Secret category for my special readers” about:

Introducing new secret category for my special readers

Vote for the painting Empowered women and be part of the creative process:

Empowered woman – Oil painting, work in progress

Thank you for reading my blog. You are my special reader and I am happy to have you.

Say hello and let me know your thoughts in comments.

Have a wonderful weekend! 🙂

Caroline

201424Sep_2283

 

 

This entry was posted in Secret category for my special readers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Rhododendron painting work in progress and photo that inspired me

  1. Pingback: Magical layers of flowers, rhododendron garden and five quotes for your creative soul | Petra Omoregie Caroline

  2. Anjali Soni says:

    Your work in write up as well as paintings are just commendable! I really like it. I would have made any suggestions, had I have any knowledge about paintings.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Anjali 🙂 You dont have to have any knowledge about paintings to contibute to the creative process with your vote.. Your eye and what you like is important. I paint also for normal people (and propably not too much for art experts). Painting is my hobby and its interesting to read what different people like and think about it. I hope that many eyes will see and enjoy the final version.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Anjali Soni says:

        Your amazing work is no less than that of an artist.
        Your thoughts are so very sweet. But, I feel so like a naive, having no knowledge and giving away opinions. Though, it was really sweet of you to say. I truly appreciate it. :’)

        Like

  3. Dom says:

    Your pianting is wonderful. I will follow ur example next week. My paint brushes are becoming order and older!
    Have a nice we too

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Cee Neuner says:

    Beautiful painting. I always adore what painters like yourself can do with a photo. Amazing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

