My second hike in Ireland: From Glenmacnass waterfall to Tonelagee

Landscapes photographs and few words about my second hike in Ireland are here for you to enjoy. Many people drive a car to the Glenmacnass waterfall to take pictures of the waterfall and have picnic or to camp near the Glenmacnass river. It was firs time in Ireland that I saw someone camping. Well, it is some kind of lazy camping without any hiking requited, because there is quite big car park near the river. Many people come here to sit near the river, let the kids play in the water, have a barbecue, picnic and adore the amazing view.

IMG_7490

Glenmacnass waterfall car park is a good starting point for a hike to Tonelagee. Me and my friend came quite early and my friend picked a perfect spot for parking his car. I appreciated that when we came back and the car park was full, many car was blocked, but we could easily drive away, because of the good position that my friend chose for the car.I mentionned this just as little warning for you in case you arrive early as we did. You would not want to park your car in the middle of a big empty parking space, come back from your hike and find your car blocked. It was really surprise for me how many people come to visit this place.

 

I took few pictures of the Glenmacnass waterfall and we started walking following the Glenmacnass river, looking for the best spot to cross the river. You can see the path that we followed behind the river and a little hill which we had to climb on the left side of the pictures below.

IMG_7478

I love the dark blue color of the river, bright sky and amazing view of the mountaigns.We were lucky to have such a wonderful sunny day.

The hill looks small, but it was quite steep for me and after few meters I had quite enough exercise for the day. There was no path to follow and we had to find our way through little bushes up to the hill. I stopped every few meters to take pictures of the amazing view.

Next two photographs show you the views that I had from the top of the small hill: the first sign of a path to follow and on the second picture is a view of a road and the place where we walked from. As we walked further we started to see the Tonelagee mountain.

Tonelagee and firs views of Lough Ouler:

 

 

 

 

The stone in the last picture is the place where we had our picnic with a wonderful view of Lough Ouler.

You can see photographs of the view and much more from this hike in part two of this article, which is coming up on my blog soon. Keep an eye for new posts in the category “Hiking and travel.”

Would you like to read about my first hike in Ireland? Here are links to the articles about my first hike:

My first hike in Ireland – Knocknagun

From Knocknagun to Prince William’s seat

Little victories – shouting on top of Irish mountain Knocknagun

Wild Irish man captured in mountains – Secret photoshoot with hiker Seamus Sullivan

Thank you for reading my blog. Let me know what you think in comments.

Caroline

201424Sep_2283

 

 

This entry was posted in Enjoy Photography, Hiking and travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to My second hike in Ireland: From Glenmacnass waterfall to Tonelagee

  1. simpledimple says:

    Wow! These are lovely Landscape photos… My kind of photos! The Glenmacnass waterfall seem like a great place to see in Ireland. It must feel wonderful to have a picnic there. I’m taking note of travel places to explore next and capture some exotic photos. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you 🙂 We had the picnic few meter below the top of Tonelagee with nice view of Lough Ouler (lake shaped like a heart) but many people decide just to stay near the river and dont climb up. Its worth to hike up to the mountain and see the lake. I will write about it soon so you can see more landsapes photos from this place 🙂 Let me know if you decide to visit this place… I would like to know about your experience.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Anjali Soni says:

    This place is so beautiful!! I loved it!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. That looks so beautiful!!!! Such a clear blue day as well!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hello Laura, thank you for stopping by and commenting on my blog. Your comment led me straight to your Twitter, thats amazing and interesting. I didnot know thats possible. The coments usually lead me to blog of the person that commented. Its nice to meet you here online 🙂

      Like

  4. Lovely photos! 🙂 Looks like a really gorgeous place to go for a walk! I really need to visit Ireland but I am so wrapped up in the gorgeous scenery in Scotland right now!

    http://www.fryingthenest.com

    Liked by 1 person

  5. These photos are completely amazing! It looks like such a lovely place x

    Liked by 1 person

  6. So beautiful! I dream of visiting Ireland someday…. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Pingback: Landscapes photos and my hike to Tonelagee | Petra Omoregie Caroline

  8. theaustraliansojourner says:

    Great photos and an enjoyable read 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

