My first hike in Ireland – Knocknagun

Many beautiful landscapes photographs from my first hike are finally here for you to enjoy on my blog. Read a few words about the hike, nature, rare plant that we found and look at the lovely bonus at the end of this article – pictures from little photoshoot of the rocks on top on Knocknagun. I truly felt in love with the rocks and I can’t stop looking at them.

20160420_115612

There is so much that I would like to share with you about this hike and so many beautiful pictures. I could not possibly fit all of it in one article, so in this article is just first part of the trip from the start to the top of Knocknagun.

We parked our car close to the Boranaltry bridge near Glencullen. Me and my friend started the hike early so we were the first to park there. Only two or three more cars could fit in this spot.

The hike started of easy, walking slowly on the hiking path, part of Wicklow way.

The first picture below was taken from our parking spot. When I look at the images of the path I want to pack and go hiking again. Our hike started with a beautiful view!

We dived into the wild nature, abandoned the comfortable path and walked around river with a magical view of the real Irish nature.

There was a fence and we had to get over the fence, luckily for us there was quite a big hole in it. I know that there are fences and walls in Ireland everywhere, but it still surprised me to see a fence like this in the middle of nowhere. (See little bit about fences in WordPress daily challenge here: https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/fence/ )

I was obsessed with taking pictures of the ground that I was walking on. All these plants, turf and all the puddles and little ponds, it was all new to me and exciting.

We found this little red plant. My friend wrote me the name of this plant in comments below this article so I am adding a little about this plant:.

Devil’s matchstick (Cladonia floerkeana) also known as “British soldier”

This plant is very sensitive to air pollution. It means that there is clean air in the area where we found it. Breathing fresh clean air, hm, hiking in Wicklow mountains is very healthy!

It is amazing feeling to finally see the top of the mountain that you are trying to reach.

Knocknagun:

Can you guess what happened when I finally arrived at the top?

Click on the link below and have a look.

Little victories – shouting on top of Irish mountain Knocknagun

After lovely lunch I walked around the rocks and admired the their beauty, perfect subject for little photoshoot. I love pictures of these rocks, the amazing shapes, the shadows and colors. What do you think? Can you see the faces of different animals? Try looking at them with your kids. They have wild imagination. Children would tell you stories about what they can see in these rocks.

 

Ma favorite picture is below. I was sitting on the rocks and looking at Prince Williams seat.

It does not look too far, but for me it was still long way to go.

20160420_141504

From Knocknagun we walked to the Prince Williams seat, but that is a topic for another article with many more landscapes photos. Subscribe or follow my blog to be first to know when I post something new. Have you seen all the categories on my blog? Look to the right of the page, click on “Select category” and see the topics that I am writing about.

Read more about my friend who guided me on this hike:

Wild Irish man captured in mountains – Secret photoshoot with hiker Seamus Sullivan

Thank you for reading my blog. Help me spread the word, please share my articles on your social media, it will brighten up my day.

Let me know what do you think in comments.

Caroline

IMG_7724

PS: All pictures in this article were taken with my phone. My copyright apply to all my photographs (all my photos have my water mark) no matter what device I used to take the photographs. Feel free to share my photos on social media, but do not modify the photo and keep my water mark on them.

This entry was posted in Hiking and travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to My first hike in Ireland – Knocknagun

  1. The plant is called commonly Match stick lichen, although not extremely rare, it only grows n very localised areas. http://www.plantlife.org.uk/wild_plants/plant_species/devils_matchstick

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Seamus, I am going to have a look at the link, research it a bit and add into the article something little about the plant. It is very interesting for me, because I have never seen or noticed the plant before.

      Like

  2. Thank you for sharing your beautiful photos! One of the things I love about blogging is being able to see places around the world.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Amanda Evans says:

    Beautiful photos, I grew up in a small village called Ballymore Eustace on the Kildare/Wicklow border and we used to go for drives up the Wicklow Gap on a Sunday. It’s so beautiful and great to see that it stays that way too.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Amanda 🙂 I am originaly from the Czech republic so I am just starting to discover all the beautiful places in Ireland. I see you a writter, I would like to publish my book one day so I will keep an eye on your blog for inspiration and motivation 🙂

      Like

  4. Brooke says:

    Lovely! I miss hikes like this. I used to hike every weekend in California but it’s a bit tougher in Madrid! I plan to hit Ireland this summer

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hello, its nice to meet you here 🙂 I hope Ireland will welcome you with some nice weather. It rains here a lot. I wanted to check your blog, but the link doesnt seems to work. You can leave link to your blog here in comments or message me so we can connect if you want. Have a nice day 🙂 and thank you for your comment 🙂

      Like

  5. urbanrabbit9 says:

    Wow looks like you clicked so many photos. I am sure it’d be wonderful being up there. I have also trekked in the lower himalayas and it’s always a nice idea to get out of the city life for once in a while.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hello, its nice to meet another travel blogger here. I checked out your blog and you have amazing photograps and articles about travel. I have just tweeted the link to your blog posts about Ireland as I have been living in Dublin for last 8 years and I am just starting to discover all the beautiful places here. So thank you for the tips, yeah I definitely have to get out of the city life 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Reblogged this on supersullivan and the Camino and commented:
    It is always interesting when someone sees hiking routes that you know very well through fresh eyrs.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. thais says:

    What a beautiful place! Just placed it on our to-do list. Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Nanie Ali says:

    Beautiful photos, Petra! I love hiking; but hard to do it in Malaysia because it’s too humid.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. The photos are really lovely. You can keep admiring the beauty of nature here. I love them. You’ve done a great job.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. litadoolan says:

    You capture the quality of the light and the fresh air brilliantly. This hike looks a super journey. Thanks for taking me along !

    Like

  11. Pingback: My second hike in Ireland: From Glenmacnass waterfall to Tonelagee | Petra Omoregie Caroline

  12. theaustraliansojourner says:

    Nice bright clear photos – very enjoyable.

    Like

Leave a Reply

