Little victories – shouting on top of Irish mountain Knocknagun

It is a big stress reliever! Climb or hike to the top of a mountain and shout! I have done my first hike in Ireland. Yeah, I did it šŸ™‚ My recovery from a car accident (2010) is moving to another level and I feel I am being myself again.

12998561_10206063749375044_4002907170452555554_n

Four years ago when I went back to college I could barely walk up the stairs at DIT. When the lift was broken, some young boys from my class always helped me carry my school bag upstairs. It was a purple bag on wheels and we called it “hoover.” I am laughing now but I felt like an old woman having trouble to walk up the stairs. In 2012 I started going to gym everyday. It took me 15 minutes to get there, then I sat in the cafe area, rested, had a coffee with a friend and walked back home. For the first few weeks it was just enough exercise to do only that. Later on “coming to look at gym” changed into “coming and exercising 10 minutes in gym.”Everyone was running on the treadmill and I was only walking on it. It felt weird but I did not give up and I slowly increased the time in the gym. I also walked in swimming pool for many weeks before I started to swim a bit again. So now you can understand how much I am celebrating that I am finally able to start hiking again.

 

Standing on top of the mountain called Prince William’s Seat (on the same day):

12994407_10206063755615200_4842063464442633228_n

Blog post with details from this hike and with many amazing photos is hopefully coming on my blog one day.

A big thank you to Seamus Sullivan for organizing and helping me during this hike.

Here is link to Seamus’s amazing blog: https://supersullivan.wordpress.com/

Check out Daily Prompts, Mountain: https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/mountain/

Thank you for reading my blog. I am looking forward to hear from you in comments.

Caroline

201424Sep_2236

This entry was posted in Hiking and travel, Little victories and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Little victories – shouting on top of Irish mountain Knocknagun

  1. Cydra says:

    You’ve come a long way! Congratulations and keep it up!! šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Victory dance on top of Irish mountain Tonelagee | Petra Omoregie Caroline

  3. Pingback: Frog – secret revealed about my first Irish frog | Petra Omoregie Caroline

  4. Pingback: Wild Irish man captured in mountains – Secret photoshoot with hiker Seamus Sullivan | Petra Omoregie Caroline

  5. Pingback: Hiker’s coffee break | Petra Omoregie Caroline

  6. Pingback: Unexpected visitor and struggle to find the way home | Petra Omoregie Caroline

  7. theaustraliansojourner says:

    You did the right thing taking it slowly. Well done. You have done really well. ā˜ŗ

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Pingback: From Knocknagun to Prince William’s seat | Petra Omoregie Caroline

  9. Pingback: My first hike in Ireland – Knocknagun | Petra Omoregie Caroline

  10. Pingback: My second hike in Ireland: From Glenmacnass waterfall to Tonelagee | Petra Omoregie Caroline

Leave a Reply

