Soft touch – relaxing time with a horse

20150829-IMG_3569-EditIf you want to be more in touch with the nature, enjoy some relaxing time with a horse. It is very rewarding, especially for a horse addict like me. I have been dreaming about horses long time. Finally I found the time to change this dream into reality. Me, my kids, my mum and my friend traveled to the Irish National Stud and Gardens in Tully, County Kildare last weekend.

http://irishnationalstud.ie/home

There is so much that I would love to write about this place. Today I will start with a little story about one very young horse, probably still foal. Later on I will write more posts about other horses from this amazing place and also about Japanese gardens with beautiful photos of flowers, trees and everything I saw there including one water lily. I believe some of you would like to know how my hunt for water lilies started and why I desire to capture them with my camera, so keep an eye on future posts on my blog.

Here he is, little boy, approaching, curious as to who I am and probably want to see if I have anything tasty for him to eat.

20150829-IMG_3530-Edit-2

It took him while to come closer. You can see picture of his mum in the middle. I offered him few leaves on my hand. It must look a little bit weird to him, because I was holding camera in my other hand. Moreover I was trying to take pictures of him and hiding my face behind the camera.

20150829-IMG_3612-Edit  20150829-IMG_3605  20150829-IMG_3532

He got use to my scary Canon 760d very quickly and we enjoyed the touching and taking pictures together. His nose is amazing and soft. He was very gentle and did not try to bite.

20150829-IMG_3579 20150829-IMG_3577

20150829-IMG_3574      20150829-IMG_3582

20150829-IMG_3562

I was trying to take picture of his whole body and in order to do that I put my head between the fences. It was probably very interesting thing to do, because he started to copy me. He must be very intelligent. I asked him to pose for me and look at that! What a lovely picture of him I got!

20150829-IMG_3608    20150829-IMG_3589

I don’t know how he did it. But he managed to take one pictures of me. Look at the reflection in his eye, yeah that’s me. Wonderful horse!

20150829-IMG_3597-Edit-2

I have done few cropping, just to enjoy this photo in different ways.  Which one you like the most?

20150829-IMG_3597-Edit

20150829-IMG_3597

Thank you for reading my blog. If you love horses as I do, have a look at my paintings. Just click the link below:

https://petraomoregiecaroline.wordpress.com/paintings/

There is also album on my Facebook page with steps how my painting of a horse comes to life:

https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.502866636547378.1073741832.501225983378110&type=3

Don’t forget to follow me on Twitter:

https://twitter.com/OmoregiePetra

And follow me on Instargam to see my daily photos:

https://instagram.com/petraomoregie/

Keep an eye on my blog for new posts. I met amazing stallions and also a little pony in the Irish National Stud and Gardens. It is hard to chose what to write about first. You can leave a comment and give me a clue 🙂

Caroline

201424Sep_2283

This entry was posted in Enjoy Photography, Horses and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Soft touch – relaxing time with a horse

  1. hayley says:

    Oh what an absolutely beautiful horse. I used to ride as a child and have always felt a connection with horses, something about them is so serene and beautiful

    Liked by 1 person

    • I used to ride too, but I have never done that in Ireland. I have to find the time and place where me and my son could ride a horse again. I am just writing post about beautiful stallion from the same place, where we met this lovely foal.(Irish National Stud & Gardens) It will be up on my blog soon. 🙂

      Like

  2. how amazing is that, that he was trying to copy you by putting his head through the fence. Ive never really been into horses but they are amazing animals for sure. x

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lovely photos. I love horses I use to ride when I was younger before I had children and I totally agree that horses are wonderful and calming animals xx

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Zoe Alicia says:

    Love horses, they are so comforting! Your photos are brilliant as well 🙂 x

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Angela Milnes says:

    I’ve never met a horse before or been horse riding. it’s one thing I’d be interested in doing if i get well. my daughter has been on a pony and fed one a carrot.

    Liked by 1 person

    • There is special horseback therapy ridding. It is for different types of injuries or illness. I would love to try that myself as I have back injury and it can help me to get better. My son started ride big horse when he was 6 years old.

      Like

  6. Horses have to be one of the most beautiful animals ever. Even my 15 months old get incredible excited when she sees one 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. sabrina says:

    Hehe, I’m glad he got used to the camera! Those eyes are gorgeous – wow! x

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Ana De Jesus says:

    Horses are such majestic creatures I mean look at their beautiful eyes there are so many depths in their gaze. He loves the camera too.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Pingback: Photo with short story #day 5 – Interview with Stallion Palavicini | Petra Omoregie Caroline

  10. Shareen HD says:

    I always wanted to ride a horse but never have. I do admire them though. Such beautiful and strong creatures. Looks like you had an amazing time xx

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Jada Lewendon says:

    Horses are such beautiful animals and indeed clever, I love the way he copied you and put his head through the fence ahaha! I’m intrigued to know about your water lily obsession now, and look forward to reading your further post! In regards to what eye image looks better, I’d say the second (middle) one out of the three! x

    Liked by 1 person

  12. wonderfulandaverage says:

    Beautiful pictures of a lovely animal. He looks so peaceful and friendly. I prefer the landscape crop to the more square one 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you 🙂 I am happy to hear what you like 🙂 The landscape crop is perfect for postcard. I like to play with the photos and try different cropping. The square one, 1:1 ratio, on the other hand is perfect size for Instagram.

      Like

  13. bubbablue says:

    Horses are lovely to photography. I spent some time at a horse and donkey sanctuary last winter and was able to get some gorgeous photos too.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. What a beautiful horse and so lovely to photograph! I prefer the landscape close up out of the 2 shots.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. A clever and photogenic horse, the pictures you have captured are great and truly show off his beauty. I had a look at some of your paintings and they are incredible! You are very talented! 🙂 x

    Liked by 1 person

  16. amytreasure0 says:

    Aw he’s lovely, this breed is nice and friendly. being around horses is so therapeutic isn’t it? x

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Pingback: Photo with a short story #day 6 – Little change in composition can make a difference | Petra Omoregie Caroline

  18. So beautiful! I used to ride when I was younger but unfortunately I fell and it gave me an injury for life. I think horses are beautiful creatures but, unfortunately, I’m afraid of getting close to them.
    Your pictures are gorgeous! They look really beautiful and calm 🙂

    Like

  19. Kate ✚ says:

    Horses are so beautiful. Those eyelashes! I used to ride as a kid and loved it. It’s been a (very) long time since I last rode though and I think I’d be nervous to do it again.

    Like

  20. Pingback: Unexpected detail: My reflection in the eye of a horse | Petra Omoregie Caroline

Leave a Reply

